Classicist Chicago | 2017 Acanthus Awards
page-template-default,page,page-id-16895,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,boxed,,qode-title-hidden,qode_popup_menu_push_text_right,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

The Chicago-Midwest ICAA Proudly Presents

The 2017 Acanthus Awards



The Chicago-Midwest Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art is pleased to announce the 2017 Acanthus Awards. These awards recognize and promote excellence in Classical and Vernacular design. These awards will recognize achievement in Architecture, Interior Design, Preservation & Restoration, Landscape Design, the Allied Arts & Craftsmanship, Unbuilt Work and Student Work.


July 14, 2017 ~ Intent to Enter Deadline

August 18, 2017 ~ Submission Deadline

November 18, 2017 ~ Acanthus Awards Reception in Chicago, IL.


The Acanthus Awards are open to all design professionals, students and artisans practicing within the boundaries of the Chicago-Midwest region of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art which includes: Iowa, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin and the upper peninsula of Michigan.  Please note that for 2017, the Acanthus Awards are open to members and non-members of the Ohio and Lake Erie Chapter. This region includes: Michigan, Ohio, Western New York (to as far east as Rochester), and Western Pennsylvania (to as far east as State College). Projects submitted for consideration may be from anywhere in the world. Any project completed after January 1st, 2008 is eligible.


The Jury will honor projects from the following categories. Multiple awards may be given in each category.

  • Residential Architecture under 5000 GSF
  • Residential Architecture over 5000 GSF
  • Institutional or Commercial Architecture
  • Interior Design
  • Preservation & Restoration
  • Landscape Design
  • Allied Arts & Craftsmanship
  • Unbuilt Work
  • Student Work – Recently Graduated
  • Student Work – Currently Enrolled

2017 Acanthus Award Sponsors

Silver Level Sponsors

HBRA Architects

Derrick Architecture

Sylvester Construction Services

Gibbons, Fortman & Associates

Craig Bergmann Landscape Design

Decorator’s Supply

Power Construction

Sierra Pacific Windows

Assured Corporation

Traditional Building Conference Series

Elks Veterans National Memorial

Richard H. Driehaus Foundation




2017 Acanthus Award Jurors

Jury Chair – Suzanne Tucker (Suzanne Tucker Home, San Francisco, CA)

Juror – Andrew Skurman (Andrew Skurman Architects, San Francisco, CA)

Juror – Elizabeth Everdell (Elizabeth Everdell Garden Design, San Francisco, CA)